FreshBooks vs Square Invoices
| FreshBooks | Square Invoices | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Cloud invoicing and accounting for small businesses and freelancers, with time tracking, expenses and online card payments. | Send invoices and estimates, create contracts and take payments through Square. |
| Category | Invoicing | Invoicing |
| Best for* | Service businesses and freelancers who send a lot of invoices. | Small businesses that already take payments with Square. |
| Business size* | Solo / freelancer | Small team |
| Free plan | Not listed | Yes |
| Free trial | Yes | Not listed |
| Pricing note | Pricing page lists a 30-day free trial (no credit card required) and paid Lite, Plus and Premium plans. No free plan listed. | Pricing page lists a Square Free plan at $0/mo per location, plus paid Plus and Premium plans. Payment processing fees vary by plan and are listed on the page. |
| Price checked | 2026-10-17 | 2026-10-17 |
| Open source | Not stated | Not stated |
| Official site | www.freshbooks.com/ ↗ | squareup.com/us/en/invoices ↗ |
| Pricing page | pricing page ↗ | pricing page ↗ |
* "Best for" and business size are our own editorial labels, not benchmarks. "Not listed" means we did not find it on the vendor's pricing page when checked. Pricing and plans change often; confirm on the vendor's site.